"Unexpected Arrivals for the Holidays" Garris Elkins

Home Forums VOICE OF PROPHECY – Kingdom of God Prophetic Words "Unexpected Arrivals for the Holidays" Garris Elkins

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    Ron McGatlin
    Keymaster

As Thanksgiving and Christmas approach, unlikely arrivals may appear at your holiday gathering. Extended family members, prodigals, and those from distant places will suddenly appear without warning. God is bringing friends and families together to experience unexpected moments of reconnection.

A Hitchhiking Journey

49-years ago today, I stuck my thumb out on a freeway on-ramp in Portland, Oregon to hitchhike home for Thanksgiving. I was a student at Multnomah University (then known as Multnomah School of the Bible). It was a spur of the moment decision. For days, I was thinking about my mom’s pumpkin pie and dad carving a turkey.

I was broke and had no plans to return home. In a moment spurred on by a sudden feeling of loneliness, I grabbed a toothbrush and left my basement apartment. I walked to the nearest freeway on-ramp, raised my thumb, and headed south. My attire in those days was blue jeans, a green Army field jacket, and cowboy boots. Those were simple times.

It was late afternoon when I caught my first ride. The driver was an older man in a pick-up truck who was a grandfatherly type. He took me south of Eugene on Interstate 5. He gave me 5 bucks when he finally dropped me off at a rest stop. It was raining and after sunset.

I looked out at the parking lot and saw a familiar van from my previous college days at Whitworth University in Spokane, Washington. It was what was called a “hippy van” in those days, driven by a guy and girl I knew. I slept the night under the van on bare asphalt wrapped in a thin blanket my friends gave me.